Writing

“I Can” Statements

I have gone back and forth and up and down creating different formats of a participation sheet that helps students track their work.  I was browsing blog sites the other day (something you should start doing if you do not already do so) and came across a series of I Can statements listed in the widget of an English Teacher’s Class Blog.

I like the idea of having the student make/write/check off Affirmation Statements that say what they can do in our class with the English content.

We are working on nonfiction and persuasive writing so I would like to use the following statements for them.

I Can statements

I can examine how the author chooses to structure the text.
I can determine how the structure contributes to the meaning of the text.
I can evaluate the style of the text and how it adds to the meaning of the text.
I can determine two or more central ideas of a text.
I can examine the central ideas of the text and how they interact together to provide meaning.
I can summarize the text.
I can write an argument using valid reasoning with relevant and sufficient evidence.
I can identify significant and opposing arguments.
I can use syntax (sentence fluency) to clarify the relationships among my claims, reasons, and counterclaims.
I can use appropriate style and tone to create a written product.
I can use correct and appropriate conventions in my writing.
I can provide a concluding statement that supports my argument.
I can present the information and supporting evidence to convey a clear point of view.
I can present information so that listeners can follow my line of reasoning.
I can use appropriate organization, development, substance, and style to establish a purpose and audience.
I can understand how language functions in different contexts.
I can make choices in language to understand reading or listening.
I can use a variety of references to understand syntax (sentence fluency) when reading complex texts.

image source: http://forums.electronicarts.co.uk/battlefield

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by: Wordpress

Subscribe By Email

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Skip to toolbar