Blogging, Web and Wiki Tools

Classroom organization

30 day teacher challenge

I have been neglectful in my Challenge duties. Thanks to @jcolque for her 30 day challenge to help me reflect about my teaching practices.

Day 5:  How do you keep your classroom organized?

People who know me are laughing at the topic, because organized Valerie is an oxymoron.

I use wikis as file cabinets and blogs as chalk boards.  I am not the organizational queen.

To be honest, if I do have something well organized it is generally by accident.  Meaning,

  • I completed a task
  • I lose the resources
  • so I re-do the task
  • before actually finishing the task for the second time, I find on the first attempt
  • I then combine the two efforts and voila; I have perfection

I exaggerate but not by much. =}

Ways to organize

Room arrangement:

I will do a better job of creating different areas within the classroom.  I don’t have room for ‘centers’ but I can create definite areas for reading supplies, writing/art supplies, etc.  My room is a self serve type of atmosphere and the students are free to help themselves when they need materials.  I need a supply chief to help me keep the areas stocked with needed supplies.

Paperwork:

Online is the way to go.  I use wikis/blogs to communicate.  I use forms and charts as a way to organize.  I am trying to go as ‘paper-free’ as possible.  No paper to keep track of goes a lonnng way in keeping me organized.

Time Management:

Again, online is the way to go.

  • I will utilize Google Calendar more this year.  I keep dates and important deadlines available on my blogs and wikis but I want to also share a calendar this year to help everyone out with long range planning and dates.
  • Self checking online tests help save time.
  • Assigning students numbers helps to quickly organize paperwork.
  • Templates for regularly completed paperwork.

These are just a few tips from an UnOrganized person.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by: Wordpress

Subscribe By Email

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Skip to toolbar