Personal Learning Network Professional Development

I became a teacher because..

30 day teacher challenge

I am thinking about this thanks to @jcolque who has issued a 30 day challenge  to help us reflect on our teaching.

Day 1:  How did you decide to become a teacher?

Teaching is second career for me.  My first was Marketing and I was unhappy swindling people out of their money.  (Not that all people in Sales are swindlers, but that is how I felt in the job that I had.)  I checked out my options and woke up one morning with the realization that I loved going to school. I hated the silly kids there but I had fun rising to academic challenges and I wanted to share this joy.  I wanted to ‘do good’ and make others happy.  I am a 3rd generation teacher; so when considering a career change, I naturally ventured into the ‘family business.’

With my B.B.A. (Bachelor of Business Administration) in Marketing behind me, I took the National Teacher’s Exam, enrolled into Xavier University’s Math Education Department and began my journey towards my Master of Education Degree.  No, I do not teach Math.  I found out early on that I could not/would not be able to handle a Math class.  (I only tried because my Mom suggested that I go that route  —>  A need for math teachers = breaks in tuition.)

To make this long story shorter, I jumped into my new career with both feet and enrolled part time in graduate school at night while teaching during the day.  I received my M.Ed. and teaching certification 2 years later.  In January, 1996, I got my first teaching job and have been teaching English/Language Arts to students in grades 6-12 ever since.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by: Wordpress

Subscribe By Email

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Skip to toolbar