Uncategorized

My work with N.O.M.A.

I was approached several months ago and asked to work with my school district’s technology department and the New Orleans Museum of Art.  My students were invited to create voice recordings (podcasts) that introduce various artifacts that are on display in the museum.

Many of you have heard me talk and tweet about our endeavors but I am now trying to reflect and analyze.  I was sooo excited that of course I said YES. 

I brought my daughter to the Educator's Night

I began my affair with the Museum by attending one of their Educator Evening Sessions.

The Museum Educator Evenings allow educators the opportunity to explore the museum’s collection artifacts.   John d’Addario, Associate Curator of Education served as our tour guide and his enthusiasm rubbed off on us.  We completed several activities: recreated a Picasso and completed a collaborative drawing modeled after one of the paintings.

 NOMA wants to draw attention to their Great Donors Collecion and increase school bookings.  I enjoyed the opportunity and think that these opportunities will lead more teachers to recognize that the permanent collection of the New Orleans Museum of Art represents an untapped wealth of knowledge and resources.

Educator_Evenings

This evening allowed me to get an intimate view of some of the artifacts housed within the Museum’s walls.  Working with John, I tried to focus on interesting pieces and get pictures of those pieces so that I could share it with my students as prep-work for our project.

Here are some of the pictures that are a part of the NOMA Collection.

Well, that was how it started out for me.  Next comes The Plan and The Reality

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by: Wordpress

Subscribe By Email

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Skip to toolbar