Uncategorized

Am I serious about educational technology?

As I wind down the end of our Thanksgiving break, I am working on……..

  • LACUE presentations
  • edcamp New Orleans campaign
  • handouts for next week’s lessons (I will be out 3 days for LACUE so it had better be a good one)
  • the work necessary for our partnership with the New Orleans Museum of Art (my students are going to be creating podcasts for some of their artifacts)
  • reading and grading essays/PowerPoints
  • reading and grading Booker T. Washington Glogs
  • catching up on news in the Twittersphere
  • reading blog posts

One of those posts just happened to be, If We Were Really Serious About Educational Technology by Scott McLeod.  I am now laughing an attempting to see if any of these things apply to me.

  • LACUE presentations and edcamp New Orleans campaign both involve me sharing tech tips with other teachers and showing off student work so that they can see what it really looks like in the classroom.
  • Creating handouts for next week’s lessons is low tech, but I am using a word processor to accomplish this annnd there will be links for the handouts on the class wiki/blog.
  • Uploading pictures and creating pages for our Community Partners Wiki that will house our work and research for our Museum of Art podcasts is techie stuff for class.
  • Reading and grading essays/PowerPoints/Booker T. Washington Glogs is techie stuff for class.
  • Catching up on news in the Twittersphere and reading blog posts is techie stuff for me that leads to learning about techie stuff for class.

Some of the key points made by Mr. McLeod hit home with me as things that I do or wish I had the control to do.

  1. Some of his ideas have to do with digital safety and citizenship and I am constantly talking to them about that. Check
  2. He wants kids to have access to the tech tools at their disposal so that they can learn how to responsibly and effectively use them.  Check
  3. He suggests that technology be integrated into all classes and not taught in isolation.  Check
  4. His belief is that we, the educators,  must learn the tools in order to effectively teach the students to use the tools to produce, create and publish.  Check
  5. He recommends that we recognize the abilities and interests of our students and use them to drive the lessons and activities.  Check

I am feeling pretty good about myself.


2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by: Wordpress

Subscribe By Email

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Skip to toolbar