Professional Development Showcasing work W. O. W.

Alan November brings us back to the beginnings of education

This video from Alan November served as a catalyst for me to continue to prepare work for my students that is meaningful and engaging.  Alan November reminds us that in the beginnings of education we required students to gain book knowledge and take that book knowledge and apply it to the real world.  Internships were non-negotiable; they were actually a part of the learning process.

You learned and then you applied that knowledge to make contributions within your community.

How can we get back to these basics?  I want my students to see the value of what I try to teach them.  I don’t want their notes to just take up space in a notebook.  I want them to be a resource that they go back to visit and refer to when they need help in the transition from book learning to real life.

Hmmm?

Myths and Opportunities: Technology in the Classroom by Alan November from Brian Mull on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by: Wordpress

Subscribe By Email

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Skip to toolbar