Professional Development Reflections

My 1st ISTE

Those of you who know me know that I was given a wonderful opportunity to attend the ISTE 2010 conference in Denver after entering a contest sponsored by Intel Education.   I created a movie using PhotoPeach was chosen as one of Intel’s Inspiring Educators and the prize was a trip to the conference.  I was so stoked by my win and the opportunity to experience a conference that is based on the integration of technology that I wanted to wring out every ounce of knowledge that I could.

My schedule was a joke because I triple booked my time, I signed up to volunteer and I “penciled in” the exhibitors that I wanted to see.  I wanted to get the most out of the opportunity.  It was my first and I wanted to see and do everything.

Did it live up to what I expected?  Definitely.  Did I make all of the appointments on my planner?  Definitely not.  As things go, I kept forgetting my schedule,  getting sidetracked by poster sessions, attending interesting but unplanned sessions and giving way to sheer exhaustion.  But it was one of the best experiences I have been involved with.  (and I can say that even though my flight was overbooked and I spent 8 hours in the airport)

I will be blogging about the sessions that I attended to share some of the great tidbits of wisdom that I gained from the experience.   Some of the sessions that I attended were

  1. Creating a Google-Enhanced Classroom
  2. Creativity and Standards: Amazing Authentic Approaches
  3. Using Virtual Worlds to Improve Student Proficiency in World Language
  4. No Paper? No Problem! Effective Teaching in a 1-to-1 Classroom
  5. Teaching the Digital Generation: A New Face For Learning
  6. Stock Market Simulations: Bullish on Engagement, Blogs, and Brainy Work

I loved them all and I learned something from each of them.  From some I got ideas for activities.  From some I got inspiration and affirmation.   From others I got to see how people use tools that I currently use.  All-in-all, it was a great experience and I would love to go again.  And again.  And again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by: Wordpress

Subscribe By Email

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Skip to toolbar