Blogging, Web and Wiki Tools My Class My Tips Slice of Life Series

Class Participation

This year is almost over and I am thinking about next year. I am working out a different system for issuing class participation points.  I will start off the school-year using index cards, Popsicle sticks or ?? something that randomly allows me to ‘select’ a student.

Kagan dvd for sale

Online Super Teacher Tools Site

I know that many feel that this nonvoluntary participation is a horrible thing to do. To terrorize students who may or may not know the answer by pulling their name out of a hat is considered by some to be ineffective.  I agree to a point.  I also know that I am using this technique as a way to let them know that they are ‘required’ to participate in class discussions.   Each week I will try to hit each child at least once to make sure that they all have a chance to receive participation points.

I am still slicing through my 31 posts for this month. I am almost halfway there.

My 15/31 slice

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by: Wordpress

Subscribe By Email

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Skip to toolbar