Blogging, Web and Wiki Tools My Class My Head

Students Tweet for Credit

Last week I asked my class to create Tweets regarding the story that we were reading in class, Pretty Ugly.  Here is a screenshot of Tweets from my class Twitter account.

 

Hashtags that they used

  • #BS121 – General class update information
  • #Plot121 – Updates and remarks about plot elements from readings
  • #Voc121 – Updates about use of interesting vocabulary words from our readings
  • #Ref121 – Updates about thoughts and feelings evoked by our readings

I captured their tweets using Tweetdoc.  It created PDFs of the Twitter hashtags that I asked them to use.  Here is a graphic that I created from a PDF.

How successful was this activity???

 I know that they focused on the plot elements more doing these updates than they just reading and listening to the story.  I gave them class participation points for each update they created.  Could I have required them to take down some notes in a reading log?  Yes, buuuutttt I am thinking about doing this more often.  I will have them to quickly plan out their tweets on paper and then have them post them online.

One comment

  • Pingback: A Vision of K-12 Students Today

  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Powered by: Wordpress

    Subscribe By Email

    Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

    This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

    Skip to toolbar