Blogging, Web and Wiki Tools My Class My World

Meshing our Curriculum with Common Core

I have been reading, planning and revising my lesson plans and curriculum material for the past few years because I kept hearing “The Common Core Standards are coming!!! The Common Core Standards are coming!!! The Common Core Standards are coming!!!”

 

Well guess what? The adoption of the Common Core Standards is here, kind of.  Common Core State Standards  (www.corestandards.org.)  There are some changes that will be made within the next few years that will modify our current GLEs so that they are better aligned to the Common Core Standards.  Here is some of the work that has been done in Louisiana:  Louisiana’s Common Core Standards Implementation Plan.

 

I am focusing on the changes to 9th grade English but here are some tips to help make the transition easier as I spend the summer reading and planning how to best serve my students (and making sure that I have acceptable value added scores…)

 

These screenshots from the Grade-Level Content Comparison Reports show what the changes mean on to our existing documents:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by: Wordpress

Subscribe By Email

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Skip to toolbar